WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-Nov-24 01:57:36

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Help with CogMac

Hi,

I tried setting up cogmac. Server and client are doing channel switching but they are not able to ping or stream video. Is there a particular node ID and IP address we need to set for both?

Offline

 

#2 2011-Nov-24 12:58:13

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

The cogmac server WARP node should have id 0 (FPGA Board DIP switch = 0000), connected to a PC with IP address 10.0.0.20.

Each cogmac client node should have id [1,15] (FPGA Board IP switch = 0001...1111). The corresponding PCs should have IP addresses 10.0.0.id (i.e. node 0001 should have IP address 10.0.0.1).

Offline

 

#3 2011-Nov-24 13:55:47

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

Hi,
Thanks for your reply..

I have tried what you said...but still nodes are unable to ping..

I am using v2.2 FPGA with v16.1 reference design...

I set cogmac server DIP LED as 000 initially...and IP as 10.0.0.20
for cogmac client as 002 and IP as 10.0.0.2

These both are changing channel which I can see in left hex LED...But m unable to ping or video stream..

In server--> dataFromNetworkLayer_callback , I have some printing statements...but they are never printed... Is that a problem?

Offline

 

#4 2011-Nov-24 14:40:31

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

Double check your PC's Ethernet link speed; I think v16.1 assumes a 100Mb link.

Offline

 

#5 2011-Nov-24 16:16:14

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

I have checked the Ethernet speed and connect it to 100 Mbps link... Now, server is able to receive ping request and its sending the reply...atleast thats what wireshark shows.. But client is unable to receive ping request packet or reply packet from server.. (and client's tx light is not glowing atall).

Offline

 

#6 2011-Nov-24 23:25:50

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

Have you tried nomac or csmamac? This would be a good way to isolate issues between PC configuration and WARP code.

If you use nomac, be sure both WARP node ids are set to 0 (non-zero ids enable dummy packet mode, where the WARP node transmits random payloads automatically and ignores payloads from Ethernet).

Offline

 

#7 2011-Nov-25 13:16:19

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

I did try.. nomac......   result was same..   One side is able to receive ping request, while other doesnot receive d reply or ping request..

But they both are working fine when i use 14.1 reference design

Offline

 

#8 2011-Nov-26 11:36:14

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

I did try.. nomac......   result was same..   One side is able to receive ping request, while other doesnot receive d reply or ping request..

Just to clarify- you see a ping request in Wireshark received at the destination PC, but no ping reply sent by that PC?

Offline

 

#9 2011-Nov-26 12:04:09

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

I see a ping request being received at the destination(1) and that destination(1) send a reply to the request. This I can see in wireshark.... But the other PC(2) did not receive this reply.. and moreover this PC(2) didnt receive ping request from (1)

Last edited by eshan (2011-Nov-26 12:06:07)

Offline

 

#10 2012-Jan-16 01:53:47

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

Hi..

Can somebody please point me to a link or guide me about running nomac using 16.1 reference design ... I am still unable to ping and what is happening is " I am unable to ping the other terminal. We can see a ping request being received at the node2 and node2 sending a reply to the request from node1. This can be seen in wireshark.... But node1 does not receive this reply. Moreover if I try to ping node1 from node2 then node1 isn't even receiving the ping request from node2."

Everything works fine with 14.1 reference design..  I ultimately wants to run cogmac but have the same problem as with nomac...

Last edited by eshan (2012-Jan-16 03:28:09)

Offline

 

#11 2012-Jan-16 23:34:38

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

Nothing special is required to use NoMAC in v16.1, so there's some other issue in your setup. Have you tried CSMAMAC? Did you confirm the DIP switches on the two FPGA Boards are both set to 0000 (required for NoMAC)? Do you have another WARP kit available to try as a substitute? Have you tried swapping the pairings of PC/WARP node, to see if the issue follows one or the other?

Offline

 

#12 2012-Feb-06 04:21:00

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

murphpo wrote:

Nothing special is required to use NoMAC in v16.1, so there's some other issue in your setup. Have you tried CSMAMAC? Did you confirm the DIP switches on the two FPGA Boards are both set to 0000 (required for NoMAC)? Do you have another WARP kit available to try as a substitute? Have you tried swapping the pairings of PC/WARP node, to see if the issue follows one or the other?

I did tried CSMA but the problem is exactly the same.
When I use dummy packets mode with nomac (DIP switch set to non-zero value) packets are received on both sides and dataFromNetworkLayer_callback & phyRx_goodheader_callback  are called as they shud

When I use ethernet packet mode with nomac (DIP switch set to zero value),  in one node  dataFromNetworkLayer_callback is never called while in the other node it is called and it works normally.
And Moreover phyRx_goodheader_callback works ok in both the boards.
This I have checked using printfs.. 
Even after swapping the pc/warp node, problem remains exactly same for v16.1. using link speed 100Mbps

The board I have is v2.2
When I use reference design 14.1 with nomac, everything works perfectly.  using link speed 1Gbps

Last edited by eshan (2012-Feb-06 04:25:31)

Offline

 

#13 2012-Feb-08 00:45:38

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

Your tests lead me to believe the problem is somewhere in the Ethernet link between the PC and WARP node. You'll have to debug this somehow- try other Ethernet cables, double-check the link settings (100Mb, full-duplex, flow control, etc.), adding a switch between the PC and WARP node. You can also try changing the ref design to 1000Mb Ethernet (set ENET_LINK_SPEED to 1000 in warpmac.c). We chose 100Mb to workaround a timing bug we believe exists in the hard TEMAC in EDK 10.1.03 that manifests as the occasional dropped Ethernet reception.

Offline

 

#14 2012-Mar-02 01:59:05

eshan
Member
Registered: 2011-Nov-24
Posts: 8

Re: Help with CogMac

Hi,
I am able to get the things work with 16.1 . The problem i was facing was because of one of the board.
We have 2 v1.2 boards and 2 v2.2 board. Out of it 1 v2.2 board isnt working and having the problem which i have described earlier ie. not able to get packets from network layer when I use ethernet mode. The other v2.2 board works fine. But I am able to use 14.1 reference design without any problem with the faulty board. Can you suggest me any debugging steps?

And I am not able to understand why server of cogmac has to be assigned 10.0.0.20 ip address. Can you point me to the code where mapping is taking place.

Last edited by eshan (2012-Mar-03 14:51:28)

Offline

 

#15 2012-Mar-04 17:36:03

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 3437

Re: Help with CogMac

I am able to get the things work with 16.1 . The problem i was facing was because of one of the board.
We have 2 v1.2 boards and 2 v2.2 board. Out of it 1 v2.2 board isnt working and having the problem which i have described earlier ie. not able to get packets from network layer when I use ethernet mode. The other v2.2 board works fine. But I am able to use 14.1 reference design without any problem with the faulty board. Can you suggest me any debugging steps?

Can you check whether both versions work if you configure the Ethernet for 100Mb or 1Gb? This is the only real difference between the Ethernet configuration between designs.

And I am not able to understand why server of cogmac has to be assigned 10.0.0.20 ip address. Can you point me to the code where mapping is taking place.

I don't think the PPC C code cares about the server's IP address; this was the configuration we used when we taught the workshop using cogmac.

Offline

 

Board footer