WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-May-27 09:37:01

taherchan

new cognitive MAC protocol

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie with warp. I am working on cognitive radio and i want to design a new cognitive mac protocol and implement it on WARP. So i have few questions to know exactly what can be done with the boards.
First, to have an idea, i have read the CSMA MAC proposed. So I want to know for example, how to create new packet types (for the cognitive protocol) in addition to the 2 types on CSMA (DATA and ACK). Also, in the literature, a lot of protocols use TDMA. So i want to know if there is a way to implement the notion of time slot and how to deal with tight synchronization problem.   

Thank you for help

#2 2013-May-27 10:18:59

chunter
Administrator

Re: new cognitive MAC protocol

taherchan wrote:

So I want to know for example, how to create new packet types (for the cognitive protocol) in addition to the 2 types on CSMA (DATA and ACK).

Yes, you can easily create new packet types and fill them into the MAC header so that your receiver knows what they are. For example, one of our workshop exercises uses a toy MAC protocol called COGMAC that has another type of packet that contains the channel number that a server will hop to so that clients can also hop there and stay connected.

taherchan wrote:

Also, in the literature, a lot of protocols use TDMA. So i want to know if there is a way to implement the notion of time slot and how to deal with tight synchronization problem.

This is possible, but is more challenging. One thing you could do use create a new type of packet that everyone in the network uses to start a warp_timer when received.This would be the beginning of a time slot. Periodically, you could exchange these packets to keep these timing windows synchronized.

#3 2013-May-27 18:14:35

taherchan

Than for your replies.