WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-Jan-21 04:16:01

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Hello sir/madam,
I am working with a warp v3 and using WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0._I downloaded the W3_WARPLab_7.3.0_2RF.bit bitstream and  board hex display is showing  <01>.Before that i have set MTU setting of my PC to maximum.This is 1432+28 =1460.I was trying to do Ping Max Payload Test.I set ip address of my PC to 10.0.0.1(and i tried with 10.0.0.200 also) I tried to ping the board by using command ping -l 8000 10.0.0.1.but I can not ping the board.I am no getting reply from board.Please help me for this problem.
I am using,
   Windows 7,64 bit PC and i directly connected ethernet cable to board from my PC.
Thank you....

Offline

 

#2 2014-Jan-21 08:49:03

chunter
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Aug-24
Posts: 1212

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Sending a ping of 8000 bytes when your MTU is only 1460 will cause IP fragmentation, which the IP stack on WARP used by WARPLab does not support. Do normal sized pings work when you just try "ping 10.0.0.1"?

Offline

 

#3 2014-Jan-22 03:19:05

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Thanks for your quick reply...
I am getting error when i run this chunk of code in matlab 2011a,
clear
N = 1;
nodes = wl_initNodes(N);
wl_nodeCmd(nodes,'identify');
disp(nodes)

The procedure i followed is as follows...
First i run wl_setup.m file in matlab,
Setting up WARPLab Paths...
   adding path 'E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\classes'
   adding path 'E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\util'
   adding path 'E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\util\inifile'
   adding path 'E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\mex'
   adding path 'E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\config'
   saving path


Warning: Unable to save path to file 'C:\Program
Files\MATLAB\R2011a\toolbox\local\pathdef.m'. You can save your path to a different
location by calling SAVEPATH with an input argument that specifies the full path. For
MATLAB to use that path in future sessions, save the path to 'pathdef.m' in your
MATLAB startup folder.
> In savepath at 162
  In wl_setup at 202


------------------------------------------------------------
Please enter a WARPLab Ethernet interface address.

Pressing enter without typing an input will use a default
IP address of: 10.0.0.250

WARPNet Ethernet Interface Address:
   defaulting to 10.0.0.250
Warning: No interface found. Please ensure that your network interface is connected
and configured with static IP 10.0.0.250
> In wl_setup at 306


------------------------------------------------------------
Please enter a WARPLab host ID.
Valid host IDs are integers in the range of [200,254]

Pressing enter without typing an input will use a default
host ID of: 250

WARPLab Host ID:
   defaulting to 250


------------------------------------------------------------
Please enter a unicast starting port.

Pressing enter without typing an input will use a default
unicast starting port of: 9000

Unicast Starting Port: 1500
   setting to 1500


------------------------------------------------------------
Please enter a broadcast port.

Pressing enter without typing an input will use a default
broadcast port of: 10000

Broadcast Port:
   defaulting to 10000


------------------------------------------------------------
Select from the following available transports:
   For better transport performance, please setup the WARPLab Mex UDP transport:
      http://warpproject.org/trac/wiki/WARPLab/MEX
[1] (default) Java UDP
Selection:
   setting to java


------------------------------------------------------------
Enable jumbo frame support? (experimental)
[1] (default) false
[2]           true
Selection: 1
   setting to false


------------------------------------------------------------


Setup Complete
wl_ver():
WARPLab v7.3.0

Framework Location:
E:\WARP\warplab\WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0(2)\M_Code_Reference\
>> clear
N = 1;
nodes = wl_initNodes(N);
wl_nodeCmd(nodes,'identify');
disp(nodes)

Error in node 1 with ID = 0:
ME =

  MException

  Properties:
    identifier: 'wl_transport_eth_java:send:noReply'
       message: 'maximum number of retransmissions met without reply from node'
         cause: {0x1 cell}
         stack: [6x1 struct]

  Methods

Error message follows:
maximum number of retransmissions met without reply from node

??? Error using ==> wl_initNodes at 165
The following nodes with IDs = [ 0 ] are not responding. Please ensure that the
nodes have been configured with the WARPLab bitstream.





I also attach the putty terminal output,

ARPLab v7.3.0 (compiled Aug 21 2013 10:06:38)
Configured for 2 RF Interfaces - Using WARP v3 on-board RF interfaces

Clock config 3:
  RF: On-board
  Samp: On-board
  Off-board Outputs: Disabled

Configuring transport...
  Set MAC Address ETH 0 via EEPROM: 40:D8:55:04:22:AA
  ETH 0 IP Address: 10.0.0.1
  Configuring ETH 0 for AXI DMA mode with 9014 byte buffers (2 receive, 1 send)
  Listening on UDP ports 9000 (unicast) and 10000 (broadcast)

Waiting for Ethernet link...

Initialization Successful - Waiting for Commands from MATLAB



The My wl_config.ini file is showing,

[config_info]
    date_created = 22-Jan-2014
    wl_ver = 7.3.0
[network]
    host_address = 10.0.0.250
    host_ID = 250
    unicast_starting_port = 1500
    bcast_port = 10000
    transport = java
    jumbo = false

Please give me the solution for error that showing....
Thank you...

Last edited by Ramananda (2014-Jan-22 04:12:57)

Offline

 

#4 2014-Jan-22 11:11:03

welsh
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2013-May-15
Posts: 612

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

The issue is that the host IP address in the wl_setup script should be the same IP address as your host machine. 

The warning:

Warning: No interface found. Please ensure that your network interface is connected
and configured with static IP 10.0.0.250
> In wl_setup at 306

is very important b/c WARPLab could not find a network interface which it could use.  If you change the IP address of the PC to 10.0.0.250, then it should work.

One other thing to test is that you are able to successfully ping your node from the command prompt before running wl_initNodes in Matlab.  Sometimes when messing around with IP addresses, the ARP table can get out of sync.   From the command prompt, you can run "arp-a" to see the ARP table.  It should look something like:

Code:

C:\Users\mango>arp -a

Interface: 10.0.0.250 --- 0xb
  Internet Address      Physical Address      Type
  10.0.0.1              40-d8-55-04-22-aa     dynamic
  10.0.0.255            ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff     static

...

Offline

 

#5 2014-Jan-23 05:53:11

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Thanks for your reply...
I followed the procedure you have mentioned,I set my PC  ip adrress to 10.0.0.250.So host IP address in the wl_setup(10.0.0.250) script become same IP address of my PC,but if ping the node,it is not successful.I am using only one warp v3 node,i  directly connected node to my PC (windows 7,64 bit with matlab 2011a and xilinx 13.4 installed) by ethernet cable.The PC is having inbuilt RJ45 Ethernet network port.
I have set DIP switch to 0000 and downloaded W3_WARPLab_7.3.0_2RF.bit bitstream,the hex display of node is displaying 01.
The result of ping will be look like this,

Code:

C:\Users\user>ping 10.0.0.250

Pinging 10.0.0.250 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.0.0.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.0.0.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.0.0.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 10.0.0.250: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 10.0.0.250:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\user>ping 10.0.0.1

Pinging 10.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.0.0.250: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 10.0.0.250: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 10.0.0.250: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 10.0.0.250: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)

When i run arp -a in command prompt the result is like this
C:\Users\user>arp -a

Code:

Interface: 10.0.0.250 --- 0xb
  Internet Address      Physical Address        Type
  10.255.255.255        ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff             static
  224.0.0.22             01-00-5e-00-00-16       static
  224.0.0.252           01-00-5e-00-00-fc        static
  239.255.255.250    01-00-5e-7f-ff-fa          static

C:\Users\user>

Please support for this problem..

Last edited by Ramananda (2014-Jan-23 06:02:05)

Offline

 

#6 2014-Jan-23 08:17:29

chunter
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Aug-24
Posts: 1212

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Ramananda wrote:

Hello sir/madam,
   Windows 7,64 bit PC and i directly connected ethernet cable to board from my PC.

Can you try going through a gigabit Ethernet switch rather than directly? It's possible that your computer isn't implementing automatic crossover needed for direct connection like that. Also, just to verify, your computer has a gigabit Ethernet NIC correct? If it's running Windows 7 64-bit, I'm sure it does, but I'm just making sure. If for some reason it's only 100Mbps, then you'd have to change the C-Code in WARPLab to reduce the Ethernet speed in that design.

Offline

 

#7 2014-Jan-26 23:48:40

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Thanks for your reply..
I am using WARPLab7.How to modify it for 100Mbps ethernet switch..?
and one more question..
Open firewall for UDP ports (10000 and [9000:9000+numNodes-1]) what it means...?(I have seen this line in PC requirements of warp site)
Thank you...

Offline

 

#8 2014-Jan-27 00:20:27

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 5159

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Changing the Ethernet link speed requires:
-Downloading the reference design archive
-Launching the Xilinx SDK to the SDK_Workspace in the reference design
-Importing the provided SDK projects
-Editing wl_transport.h to change WL_ETH_A_SPEED to 100
-Compiling the updated software and configuring the WARP node with your updated bitstream

However I would strongly encourage using 1Gb Ethernet. You will achieve much better performance with WARPLab over a 1Gb link than 100Mb.

Offline

 

#9 2014-Jan-29 23:18:34

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Thank you so much for your reply...
     I have tried with 1Gb Ethernet switch...everything is working fine(SISO,MIMO) with 2 warp v3 nodes.But i want implement SISO and MIMO with only one node.Please tell me, which file(code) of WARPLab_Reference_Design_7.3.0 i have to modify..
kindly oblige...

Offline

 

#10 2014-Jan-30 08:15:58

welsh
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2013-May-15
Posts: 612

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

If you start with the Examples section of WARPLab ( http://warpproject.org/trac/wiki/WARPLab/Examples ).  It is pretty straight forward to modify the SISO example ( http://warpproject.org/trac/browser/Res … iso_txrx.m ) to use the two RF interfaces on one node vs one RF interface on two nodes (ie you make the RX and TX nodes the same node and make sure the RF TX/RX interfaces use RFA and RFB respectively). 

Similarly, if you have a 4 radio node (i.e. a WARP kit plus a [http://mangocomm.com/products/modules/fmc-rf-2x245 FMC radio board]), you could modify the MIMO example (  http://warpproject.org/trac/browser/Res … imo_txrx.m ) to use RFA & RFB to transmit and RFC & RFD to receive. 

The main thing is to be carful with is connecting the RF interfaces together.  Please refer to the WARP Hardware User's Guide:  http://warpproject.org/trac/wiki/Hardwa … /WARPv3/RF for more details on the RF interface.  Please note the last sentence:  "To connect two WARP v3 kits via a coax cable, ensure there is at lest 40dB series attenuation."  If you do not have attenuation, you may damage the RF interface.

Offline

 

#11 2014-Sep-09 06:59:45

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Hello sir/madam,
   I want to clarify one thing about WARP V3.

    Can WARP V3 provide the capability to upconvert the baseband signal to RF Frequencies ?

Offline

 

#12 2014-Sep-09 11:00:01

welsh
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2013-May-15
Posts: 612

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Yes, WARP v3 uses the Maxim MAX2829 transceiver to translate between baseband and RF.  You can see more details on the WARP v3 RF interfaces here.

Offline

 

#13 2015-Jun-12 00:46:46

Ramananda
Member
Registered: 2013-Dec-31
Posts: 12

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Hi,
I face some problem related to WARP  V3 hardware.
When I try to program the WARP v3 board with .bit file of WARPLab reference design I got the following error in terminal.

WARPLab v7.5.1 (compiled Jun  9 2015 10:48:44)
Configured for 2 RF Interfaces - Using WARP v3 on-board RF interfaces
No clock module detected - selecting on-board clocks
NODE: W3-a-00548 using Node ID: 1
DRAM SODIMM detected ...
  Contents not cleared
Radios didn't lock! RC stat reg: 0x00001810
IFC: ERROR (wl_interface.c:337): Radio controller initialization failed with status: -1
NODE: ERROR (wl_node.c:250): Interface initialization error! Exiting...
NODE: ERROR (wl_node.c:379): Error in global_initialize()! Exiting...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Both the LED of RF A is continuously blinking and LED display have the value E2.

what is this error ?Is it some damage of the Radio controller?

Offline

 

#14 2015-Jun-12 09:11:24

chunter
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Aug-24
Posts: 1212

Re: Cannot ping the WARP V3 board

Unfortunately, that error message means there is a hardware problem. To start the RMA process, please contact Mango support via email at support[at]mangocomm.com.

Offline

 

Board footer