WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-Sep-30 01:14:12

zhimeng

Relationship between c and FPGA code on the MAC

Hi, I am a beginner who tries to change the current MAC protocol on warp.
As a newbie, I find myself easily lost, since some code is written in C, while the other is written on the FPGA core (such as SIFS and DIFS waiting). Do you have some suggestions for getting a whole picture of the MAC implementation? For example, I want to change the transmission speed in the frame_transmit function in the wlan_mac_dcf, but I can't find out how is this function called by other programs.
Thanks very much in advance.

#2 2015-Sep-30 08:56:03

welsh
Administrator

Re: Relationship between c and FPGA code on the MAC

The easiest place to start would be the "NO MAC" reference design.  This is the minimal implementation of a lower-level MAC.  Hopefully, this will allow you to get a better sense of the interaction between various parts of the code.  The main thing to remember, is that the reference design extensively uses interrupts and callbacks in order to process events.  The interrupts allow the reference design to be more efficient when processing events; while the callbacks allow the reference design to be divided into MAC specific code and framework code that is common to all MACs.  Therefore, when you are looking at how functions are called, you have to also understand if that function is used as a callback and where the callback is invoked.