WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-Oct-30 05:22:44

ggalieroc

AP measures RSSI and prints measured values

Hi all,

It's being three weeks since I started to work with WARP v3 boards. So far I have just been testing the 802.11 reference design and getting familiar with Xilinx SDK. But now it's time to make the real magic. The experiment setup I am using is as follows:

AP (WARP v3)   <----->   STA (WARP v3)

Each WARP board is connected to a laptop providing IPs to each one. AP and STA are able to ping each other.
Now I am interested to measure the RSSI, for instance by the AP (I would be interested in doing the same for the STA). For this, since I am quite new in this I thought of a simple solution. There is this function wlan_phy_rx_get_pkt_rssi() function defined at:

dir wlan_mac_shared -> wlan_mac_low_framework -> include -> wlan_phy_util.h

It is used at:

dir wlan_mac_low_dcf -> src -> wlan_mac_dcf.c

within the function frame receive.

As a first idea, I tried to modify the c file wlan_mac_ap_uart_menu.c placed at:

dir wlan_mac_high_ap -> src -> wlan_mac_ap_uart_menu.c

The modification was meant to include an extra feature at the printed menu when the COMX connection is opened. For instance:

[m] - Measure the RSSI of the channel

Within the same file, create a function performing rssi measurement when "m" is pushed (for simplicity only one value is reported each time user press "m").
So I created a function called void print_rssi(), which defines a variable, rssi and stores the result of calling wlan_phy_rx_get_pkt_rssi() and prints its value by the console. But there is a problem, when I try to include the header file ,where wlan_phy_rx_get_pkt_rssi() is defined, into wlan_mac_ap_uart_menu.c and error pops up (No such file in directory). The problem was not solved if I copy the file wlan_phy_util.h into the folder include of wlan_mac_high_ap.