WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-Oct-25 06:58:10

bojanpg

Extended time Spectrogram

I am new to WARP, so please excuse me if I post dumb questions.

My idea is to modify this WARPLab Spectrogram Example https://warpproject.org/trac/wiki/WARPL … ectrogram, in order to show spectrogram for extended predefined time (for example: 60s). Is it possible to do so by only modifying this example?

Other idea is to use this wlan_exp example https://warpproject.org/trac/wiki/802.1 … continuous and to pass .hdf5 log file to Matlab to show spectrogram.

Could someone help me, what is the best approach to solve this?

#2 2017-Oct-26 11:00:04

chunter
Administrator

Re: Extended time Spectrogram

60 seconds sampled at 40 MSPS is a lot of data (60 * 40e6 = 2.4e9 samples = 4.8 Gigabytes). That's larger than the available DRAM on WARPv3. The largest buffer size that WARPLab supports is 128M samples, or 3.35 seconds of continuous reception. Do you need it to be 60 continuous seconds or could you capture 3.35 seconds at a time repeatedly?

It would require significant changes to the underlying FPGA design, but you could modify the design to reduce the bandwidth being stored if you don't need 40MHz. A modified design capturing only 10MHz of bandwidth would achieve 3.35 * 4 = 13.4 seconds of storage since each sample has been elongated by a factor of 4.

The 802.11 design won't give you a raw spectrogram of energy on the medium -- it's an 802.11 PHY and can extract channel coefficients from receptions, but it doesn't capture raw I/Q for conversion to a spectrogram. WARPLab is the better fit for the project as I understand it.

#3 2017-Oct-26 12:58:36

bojanpg

Thank you so much for your answer!

I need as longer as possible, not necessarily 60 s. Instead of it, I could capture 3.35s at a time repeatedly, but is there any way to avoid such long delay between two experiments?