WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-Apr-12 19:17:18

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Setting up the WARPLab 7

Hi,
While i am confirming everything is ready for WARPLab 7, as follow;

clear
N = 1;
nodes = wl_initNodes(N);
wl_nodeCmd(nodes,'identify');
disp(nodes)

I have following error:

Warning: Node 0 with Serial # 897 failed trigger test
In wl_initNodes at 199
Error using wl_initNodes (line 203)
Broadcast triggers are not working. Please verify your ARP table has an entry for the broadcast address on your WARPLab subnet

I also checked following suggestions:

All WARP nodes (I have two) and the host PC are on a common Ethernet switch.

The host PC NIC IP address is in the same subnet as the WARP nodes (10.0.0.x by default).

I am using WARPLab MEX UDP transport.

I still have same problem. If you have any suggestion i will appreciate.

Thank you.

Offline

 

#2 2018-Apr-12 20:44:23

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 4954

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

WARPLab uses broadcast IP/Ethernet packets to send trigger commands to multiple nodes at once. WL sends these trigger packets to IP address 10.0.0.255 (when you're using the 10.0.0.x subnet). On most PCs the OS will automatically associate the IP address 10.0.0.255 with the broadcast Ethernet address FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF. It's possible your PC is not doing this automatically. Try adding the ARP entry (ARP maps IP-Eth addresses) manually. Assuming you're running Windows:
-Launch a command prompt as Administrator
-Run 'arp -s 10.0.0.255 FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF'

Offline

 

#3 2018-Apr-13 14:23:35

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Dear Murphy,

I did your suggestion but it still has a same problem. You can find my ARP test as follows:

arp  -a

interface 10.0.0.255---0xb
internet address        Physical Address        Type
10.0.0.1                   40-d8-55-04-26-d6     dynamic
10.0.0.1                   40-d8-55-04-26-d4     dynamic
10.0.0.255               ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff               static
10.255.255.255        ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff               static

and son on

Offline

 

#4 2018-Apr-13 15:00:45

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 4954

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Code:

10.0.0.1                   40-d8-55-04-26-d6     dynamic
10.0.0.1                   40-d8-55-04-26-d4     dynamic

That's a problem - there should not be two MAC addresses for one IP address. Do you have two WARP v3 nodes connected to your switch? Did you set the DIP switches to 0000 and 0001 (as described in quick setup)?

Offline

 

#5 2018-Apr-13 15:05:53

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

sorry i wrote wrong. It is
10.0.0.1                   40-d8-55-04-26-d6     dynamic
10.0.0.2                   40-d8-55-04-26-d4     dynamic
and also DIP switches to 0000 and 0001. Still same problem.

Offline

 

#6 2018-Apr-13 20:47:11

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 4954

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Something between MATLAB and the W3 node is blocking the broadcast trigger packet. You'll have to narrow down what is doing this. One debugging step would be to attach a second PC to the same switch and run Wireshark to capture all network traffic observed by that PC. You should see a broadcast Ethernet packet in Wireshark whenever the WARPLab M code sends a trigger.

Offline

 

#7 2018-Apr-16 15:51:45

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Dear Murphy,

As you suggested I attached a second PC to same switch and ran Wireshark. I have some obvervations such as:

1) While WARLab M code sends a trigger, the second PC cannot observe anything by Wireshark
2) While I was pinging second PC all packets are lost and wiresharp in second PC has 'no response found'
3) I can pinging the Host PC using second PC. It works, all packets are sent and wiresharp in second PC has 'no response found' after first pinging request.
4) While WARLab M code sends a trigger, the Host PC can observe something by Wireshark

Do you have any idea what is the problem? What should i do?

Offline

 

#8 2018-Apr-16 16:39:43

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 4954

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Does your WARPLab PC have a firewall enabled on the 10.0.0.x interface?

Offline

 

#9 2018-Apr-16 18:24:51

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

For that I turned off the firewall but still i have some problem. Should i enabled on the 10.0.0.x?

Offline

 

#10 2018-Apr-17 10:23:29

murphpo
Administrator
From: Mango Communications
Registered: 2006-Jul-03
Posts: 4954

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Any firewall should be disabled on the WARPLab NIC.

You need to figure out what application / OS setting / NIC setting / switch setting is blocking packets between the WARPLab PC and other devices. WARPLab Ethernet triggers will not work if broadcast packets from the PC are not reaching the WARP nodes.

Offline

 

#11 2018-Apr-19 15:29:05

gant
Member
Registered: 2018-Apr-09
Posts: 8

Re: Setting up the WARPLab 7

Dear Murphy,

I can not find problem which the blocking packets between the WARPLab PC and other devices. I also tried with different  PC but I always have same problem. But, i can solve this problem by using my laptop with USP-Ethernet Adapter. Now it is working. Is this give you any idea about blocking problem. Thanks

Offline

 

Board footer