WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2006-Oct-10 11:59:15

umayanti

Estimation offset in OFDM systems

Hi all...

Currently I am working on synchronization issue in OFDM systems. I am a beginner so would you please help me with these basics questions.

I have several questions in modelling the synchronization task.

1. In my OFDM systems model, i don't use I/Q mod. Before sending through the channel I assign frequency offset to the signal. I use the frequency offset block fr simulink blockset. But when i see your model (SISO), it generated it's own offset using constant block and DDS. what's the difference between these things? can i still use the offset block coz I m just need to do simulation not hardware implementation.

2. In your model there's no block to give time offset. I thought that I need to put a delay block in the model to give a time offset to the signal and this delay need to estimate (preamble detection) later using correlation of the received signal . Or am I misunderstanding abt this thing?

3. This last question is about the most difficult problem that I am facing now.  It seems quite simple to understand the teory of how to estimate the coarse time and coarse frequency offsets. In coarse estimation, after detecting the peak corr which is the indication of the start of the preamble then the angle of this peak correlation is the estimation of the frequency offset. But it's very complex when come to the modelling. I don't have that such idea of how to model it before and I made a very simple model which didn't picture out the complexity of the synchronization task. Could you please explain in a simpler form the details of the data flow needed for these coarse estimation. I've seen your model but frankly i couldn't follow it.

Thanks in advance

Uma

#2 2006-Oct-11 11:49:19

murphpo
Administrator

Re: Estimation offset in OFDM systems