WARP Project Forums - Wireless Open-Access Research Platform

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-Sep-03 10:08:34

osunax

Available sampling rate for the radio boards (rev 1.4)

Hi there, I am an enthusiastic newbie to WARP boards and after reading some old forum posts I'm still not sure what is the right answer to my question:

what is the available sampling rate on the radio board (rev 1.4) (in Rx mode)? Is it fixed at 40msps by the off-board 40MHz signal coming from the clock board (rev 1.1) ?

My understanding is that, as of rev 1.4, it is NOT possible to change the sampling rate (I wanted to lower it) with the clock sources available from the standard kit, correct?

I got confused because I read the following on reply #2 of on http://warp.rice.edu/forums/viewtopic.php?id=18

"With the current version of the hardware, the FPGA board has a single 100 MHz oscillator feeding a global clock pin on the FPGA. The FPGA uses a DCM to derive the clock signals used elsewhere in the system. This includes the 50 MHz ADC/DAC clock for the radio board, the 200 MHz PowerPC clock, 100 MHz PLB clock and 50 MHz OPB clock. You can customize the frequencies of all of these clocks by modifying the configuration of the dcm_module in your XPS design. "

What is this "50 MHz ADC/DAC clock for the radio board" ? Isn't it 40Mhz?

Thanks a lot!
Greeting from RWTH-Aachen in Germany.

Last edited by osunax (2009-Sep-03 10:10:41)

#2 2009-Sep-03 10:29:07

murphpo
Administrator

Re: Available sampling rate for the radio boards (rev 1.4)